One down, five to go.

Soooooo….the end of an eventful day in Golden. Having arrived safely in the town I was met by a very active AAPG Student Chapter and taken to lunch at Table Mountain Inn. I had a huge caramelized onion and ‘swiss’ burger (highly recommended), before heading up to Mines to give my talk. Being a AAPG student chapter-hosted event, my talk, which was on deep-marine reservoirs, was attended mainly by students from varying geoscience background. The talk went well I think, and I even managed not to fluff my lines regarding the somewhat tricky, source-to-sink part. I hope the students (and staff) got something out of it; I sometimes get so carried away with extolling the virtues of seismic reflection data for geologists in pubs, talks, etc, that the actual technical message of my talk gets lost!

The beautiful people of the Colorado School of Mines. I salute you.

The beautiful people of the Colorado School of Mines. I salute you.

After the talk we headed back to the Table Mountain Inn bar, where I was subjected to a series of beers of (thankfully) decreasing hoppiness (what is it with Americans and hopping the hell out of their beer?). The idle patter ranged from the origin of Upheaval Dome, to methods for dating fault rocks to the virtues of Las Vagas as a party destination. Having had my intellectual fill for the evening I ‘retired’ and started to mentally prepare myself for replaneing in Denver for the flight up to Billings, Montana…

P.S. I have to say that Golden is a truly awesome town. The snow, the mountains, the people clad in gore-tex. I came here in 2002 for a climbing holiday after AAPG and I don’t think I fully appreciated it then. I love it! Can I stay?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

