Allan P. Bennison

Now children, settle down and I’ll tell you a story about the gripping history of the AAPG Distinguished Lecturer tour..…lifted largely from the official AAPG inter-web site…http://foundation.aapg.org/distinguishedLecturers.cfm. The DL program started in 1914, has supported over 400 speakers and originally had a budget of $1000 (c. $23000 in 2013 money). The first speakers travelled by train(!), during post- World War II rationing(!). And here am I worried that my 2500 calories-per-day demands might not be met, or that my batteries might run out on my drug-dealer headphones. My tour is supported by the ‘Allan P. Bennison Endowment’. Bennison, who passed away in 2004, was a palaeontologist by interest and all-round geologist by necessity (you gotta pay rent…). He provided the first scientific documentation of dinosaur remains in California. Which is very cool. In 1984 Bennison said that “geology has always been a universal science involving men and women of all nations”, thus his endowment supports lecturers from countries other than the United States, for which I am truly grateful. Read more about Bennison here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User:Abyssal/Allan_P._Bennison.

Author: Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I ❤️ 🏃🏿, 🚴🏿 and @basinsIC (⛏). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

2 thoughts on “Allan P. Bennison”

Leave a Reply

