So, what will I be talking about?

Having been asked to do this lecture tour, my first problem was what to talk about. Friends, who have done this tour before, encouraged me to propose at least two talks; apparently giving one talk up to 8 times in 2 weeks can drive you crazy. So, the question was, “do I give a couple of old talks on old research, or pull together something new based on recently completing and/or ongoing work?”. The former option is relatively straightforward because you can simply take a well-practised talk off the shelf and, with any luck, give it with your eyes closed; however, this option is a little dull. The latter, although hopefully more stimulating for you and the audience, runs the risk of being a death knell for your research career as you flop around in half-baked ideas. The decision becomes even more difficult when you consider that I have rather ‘broad’ (i.e. unfocused) research interests, and that the talks needed to be tailored for an AAPG (i.e. oily/gassy) crowd. In the end I came up with two talks that contained both old and new material. The first is on tectonically-controlled deep-marine reservoirs and is based on work I did with Tor Sømme (ex-Bergen, now Statoil). The second is on igneous intrusions and their impacts on petroleum systems; shout-outs to Craig Magee (IC), Nick Schofield (Birmingham) and Simon Holford (Adelaide) for their input on this one. For abstract, a terrible photo and a thrilling account of my geological ‘birth’, check out the official AAPG webpage

Author: Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I ❤️ 🏃🏿, 🚴🏿 and @basinsIC (⛏). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

Leave a Reply

