Hmmm…this flight is now seriously delayed due to a missing flight attendant. I don’t need any peanuts on my flight, so I think we can just get going.

In the meantime, I have busied myself with preparing THE definitive Top 10 list of ‘Things about of Montana and Billings’. See if you agree with my ranking:

  1. Montana has the largest migratory elk herd in the nation.
  2. The state boasts the largest breeding population of trumpeter swans in the lower United States.
  3. Yellowstone National Park in southern Montana and northern Wyoming was the first national park in the nation.
  4. Billings is the largest city in the state of Montana and has a population of around 105,000 people
  5. Billings was nicknamed the Magic City because of the city’s seemingly overnight appearance linked to its founding as a railroad town in March of 1882.
  6. The city is named for Frederick H. Billings, a former president of the North Pacific Railroad, despite the fact he never lived there.
  7. With the Bakken oil play in eastern Montana and western North Dakota, the largest oil discovery in U.S. history, as well as the Heath shale oil play just north of Billings, the city’s already rapid growth rate is escalating.
  8. About five miles south of downtown are the Pictograph Caves. These caves contain over 100 pictographs (rock paintings), the oldest of which is over 2000 years old!
  9. Calmity Jane, famous frontier women, lived in Billings.
  10. I’m going to Billings!

Author: Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I ❤️ 🏃🏿, 🚴🏿 and @basinsIC (⛏). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

2 thoughts on “”

  1. I was also told that you can drive as fast as you want in Montana (no speed limit). Oh wait! You do not like to drive…Did you pack your bike? lol

Leave a Reply

