GOOD MORNING CASPER!!!

1935 miles down, 4598 miles to go….

The flight from SLC got me in to Casper just after 2300. I was met by my host, Marron and her rather sleepy daughter Alice, and taken to my hotel. It was super-nice of them to meet me so late…especially because the itinerary indicated I was to take a taxi to the hotel. At last I have some stability, because I’ll be staying here for a couple of nights, before heading-out to San Francisco. I. Can’t. Wait.

After a restful night and something approaching a lie-in (0700 as opposed to 0500), I decided to strike out for this place: www.eggingtons.com; I have a weakness for omelettes.  Google maps suggested it was a 1.5 mile walk and that the route was relatively simple. After 45 minutes walking around in temperatures well below 0°, numerous wrong turns down roads along which the pavement simply petered out (WHAT IS IT WITH THIS AMERICA?!) and a loop around the local trailerpark, I finally arrived. Furious, cold, but still hungry. The breakfast was passable but the rather old-skool breakfast restaurant was charming; if you’re passing through Casper, I highly recommend it. However, if you are ever in or from Austin, make sure you hit the Omelettary on Burnet Road. Criminally-good omelettes at that spot. Jay Rayner, signing-off…

Author: Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I ❤️ 🏃🏿, 🚴🏿 and @basinsIC (⛏). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

4 thoughts on “GOOD MORNING CASPER!!!”

  1. Since I am a non-native speaker I take great pleasure on/in? doing this “in-depth revisions” of English grammar and spelling AND you are a Brit! Even better…lol

Leave a Reply

