And at the half-way stage of the race…

So week 1 is drawing to a close, and I head for the sunny climes of California for a 3-day break with my wife and daughter. I will, however, be returning to the frozen north later next week (Lincoln, NE and Bismarck, ND). I have really enjoyed the tour so far; the talks have gone well, the people have been friendly and the locations have been surprisingly alluring. Physically, I am still keeping it together, although I’m a little tired of deplaning (disembarking to anyone with a shred of sense…) and replaning (i.e. boarding) everyday. This two-night stopover in Casper has helped. So has the civilised nature of the social functions at the various stops.

An extinguished/distinguished lecturer in a coffee house in Casper; mentally and physically still with it. Apparently.
An extinguished/distinguished lecturer in a coffee house in Casper; mentally and physically still with it. Apparently.

Mentally, I am just about with it (no laughing at the back…), although I need to get my brain back in gear for Monday as I’ll be presenting to the Northern Californian Geological Society at Chevron’s research centre in San Ramon. I guess this crowd will have slightly more research-focused, industry types in it. On top of this, my last two talks have been on igneous systems, thus I need to get back into a deep-water mindset. I will therefore be channelling the spirit of one of my co-conspirators, Dr David Hodgson; a man who knows more about deep-water than Oscar Pistorius.

Thanks for keeping-up with the blog so far. I’ll try and post some short and/or fun stuff from San Fran over the weekend. Until then, play safe kids.

Author: Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I ❤️ 🏃🏿, 🚴🏿 and @basinsIC (⛏). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

2 thoughts on “And at the half-way stage of the race…”

Leave a Reply

