San Francisco? Tick!

2843 miles down, 3690 to go…

Yesterday I cycled from the Golden Gate Park to the Golden Gate Bridge, via. Presidio, and then ate in a fancy restaurant called Maverick, located in the ‘trendy’ Mission District. This morning I presented for the Northern Californian Geological Society at Chevron today in San Ramon. A change of gears (no pun intended) was therefore required.

There was a smallish turnout for my deep-water presentation, but people had dialled-in from some of their other locations. This was OK by me; we were treated to an obscenely large buffet of fruit, cookies and drinks, which would have been smaller, per person, if more people had turned-up. For those of you who have never been to Chevron’s offices in San Ramon, it is a super setting. Set amongst the hills east of San Francisco, it has a real campus feel. I could instantly see why many of the staff of quite upset at the prospect of moving from here to Houston. Culturally, I think that a move from Earth to the Moon would be easier than a move from San Ramon to Houston. My geo-spies tell me that only technical (G&G) staff are moving down to Texas, and that the money-folk and legal-bods are staying in the sunny hills of California…who’d have thought it…? I would like to say thanks to Mel, Ray, Andrea and Bruce, who hosted me today and provided me with many laughs during the course of an entertaining lunch. I hope to see you all again soon. Hopefully not in Houston.

Tomorrow morning I take three flights, cover 1678 miles and spend c. 5 hours flying from San Francisco to Lincoln, Nebraska. Pray for me…

Author: Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I ❤️ 🏃🏿, 🚴🏿 and @basinsIC (⛏). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

4 thoughts on “San Francisco? Tick!”

Leave a Reply

