Lincoln? Tick!

So I have now been to two Lincolns in my life. The jury is still out on which was the most fun and, indeed, which one contained the happier people, but I personally had a great time in the Nebraska version.

I was hosted by Caroline Burberry, an ex-PhD student of mine from Imperial College.  Having had a nice, leisurely breakfast in The Mill (coffee-house of choice for the UNL staff), she took me on a tour of the campus. The University of Nebraska Lincoln (UNL) has a nice campus feel to it, although it does feel rather dominated by the (unsurprisingly) large, (unsurprisingly) endowed Memorial Football Stadium. I met with Dick Kettler, a member of faculty who has an interest in geochemistry. We had a long and animated chat about Opal A-CT diagenesis and the practical implications of understanding this process and products. He gave me some excellent tips on old/lost literature; this will come in handy for my PhD student Thilo Wrona, who is working on Opal A-CT for his PhD.

Left: The Big Red 'N'. GO HUSKERS!!!!! Woh, yeah, USA, USA, USA!!!! Right: Archie, the woolly mammoth. Big around these parts, apparently...
Left: The Big Red ‘N’. GO HUSKERS!!!!! Woh, yeah, USA, USA, USA!!!! Right: Archie, the woolly mammoth. Big around these parts, apparently…

Next stop was a leisurely lunch with some of the students (do you see a pattern developing here!), the highlight of which was an excellent, Nebraska-invented, Reuben sandwich (see post here).  Having topped 2500 calories by midday, I headed back to meet with Dave Loope (another faculty member) before giving me talk. There was a good turn-out; around 10 staff and probably 20 students. UNL have a very active student chapter, similar in size and dynamism to that at the Colorado School of Mines. There were a number of interesting questions, mainly related to deformation patterns adjacent to sill intrusions. More research to be done in that area…

I was then taken out for drinks and food by Caroline, Chris Fielding and Tracy Frank; they apparently lost our booking at The Dish (they are now on my Lincoln restaurant ‘shit-list’…) so we ended up at a very nice Thai restaurant, where we discussed The Great American Gun Debate (I find this fascinating), the structure and research vs. teaching balance in US universities, and the problems associated with cutting down and replanting trees in your yard (not my area of expertise).

I had a great time in Lincoln. Maybe the Nebraska version has the edge on this version

Author: Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I ❤️ 🏃🏿, 🚴🏿 and @basinsIC (⛏). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

6 thoughts on “Lincoln? Tick!”

Leave a Reply

