6533 miles down, 0 miles to go; AAPG Distinguised Lecturer Tour? Tick!

Now back home in Austin, where I was met with some belated birthday gifts. Olive had obviously been reading about my ever-increasing dinosaur fixation and had nipped-out to get me some birthday socks. I tried to move her out of the way to take a picture of just the socks; she got rather angry. The cakes were much appreciated; my sub-2200 calorie-a-day diet starts tomorrow.

bday_montageI want to make one final post that tries to capture what I learnt during my tour; not necessarily in terms of my research and how it was perceived, or the questions that stimulated me to think a little harder, but what I learnt about America and what I learnt about communicating ‘science’ to people. I need to sleep on this, so I will probably post it tomorrow afternoon….just before my Mum arrives from the UK…

Author: Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I ❤️ 🏃🏿, 🚴🏿 and @basinsIC (⛏). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

Leave a Reply

