how to spend your 36th birthday: Pt 1

Bismarck, North Dakota was my last tour stop, and I was hosted by the North Dakota Geological Suvery and the North Dakota Geological Society. Having filled up on prime rib at Peacock Alley, Tim, Ned and I wandered over to the Radisson Hotel were we were met by a sizeable buffet, a well-stocked bar and an eager audience. My talk on igneous systems went down well; most people had not seen these features before, and certainly not in glorious technicolour in 3D seismic data. The questions were excellent, especially the one related to what data can be used to image sub-vertical dykes; I had to think on my feet (gravity and magnetic data are good) and an interesting discussion was had. Some of the attendees then hung around in the bar afterwards for a couple of birthday drinks; it was an excellent end to a top day. I even found out from Justin, El Presidente of the Society, that you can get real deep-dish pizzas flown in from Chicago to Bismarck at a days notice! Something to bear in mind if you ever find yourself pizza-less in Bismarck. Lord knows itโ€™s a terrifying thought.

Left: logo for the North Dakota Geological Survey. Right: logo of the North Dakota Geological Society. Don't mix 'em up; they'll get mad.
Left: logo for the North Dakota Geological Survey. Right: logo of the North Dakota Geological Society. Don’t mix ’em up; they’ll get mad.

Author: Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I โค๏ธ ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿฟ, ๐Ÿšด๐Ÿฟ and @basinsIC (โ›). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

Leave a Reply

