GSA Thompson International Distinguished Lecturer 2017

So, seis_matters rises, phoenix-like, from the flames of the 2013 instalment, which at that time, was associated with my American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) Distinguished Lecturer tour. Seemingly, people have yet to rumble my mediocrity, thus I am hugely honoured to revive the seis_matters blog in recognition of my receipt of the Geological Society of America (GSA) Thompson International Distinguished Lecturer Award for 2017.

Image result for gsa americaThis award, which is made possible through a gift to the GSA Foundation by James B. Thompson, Jr., and which is arranged under the guidance of GSA International, provides financial support for me to visit and lecture at 13 North American universities and geological institutions. I’ll be providing some info on Jim Thompson in a later post; he was quite the dude! Professor Terry Plank, the Arthur D. Storke Memorial Professor and geochemist/petrologist at Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University will also serve as a Distinguished Lecturer, touring a range of non-US universities and institutions. I’m currently finalising the tour plan, which will see me travel to the US for two 2-week tours in February and April. As soon as some of these details are set, I’ll crack on with blogging some details of where I’m going and what I’ll be talking about. Until then, I’m just trying to figure our this new WordPress interface…

Author: Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I ❀️ πŸƒπŸΏ, 🚴🏿 and @basinsIC (⛏). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

3 thoughts on “GSA Thompson International Distinguished Lecturer 2017”

Leave a Reply

