The Plan

the-plan
Left-hand image courtesy of Agile Geoscience. Right-hand image courtesy of buzzfeed.com. I shit you not.

Having been asked to do this lecture tour, and once I got the travel logistics in order, my next problem was what to talk about. In 2013, when I did the AAPG Distinguished Lecturer Tour, I offered two talks: (i) tectonically-controlled deep-marine reservoirs (see related papers here: Somme et al., 2013 and Somme & Jackson, 2013); and (ii) igneous intrusions and their impacts on petroleum systems (see related paper here: Holford et al., 2013). I felt this was a smart move because giving one talk six times in 10 days was likely to drive me insane. The question then as it was more recently was, β€œdo I give old talks on old research, or do I pull together something new based on recently completed and/or ongoing work?”. The former option is relatively straightforward because you can simply take a well-practised talk off the shelf and, with any luck, give it with your eyes closed; however, this option is a little dull. The latter, although hopefully more stimulating for you and the audience, might be terrifying, as you flop around for 45 minutes in half-baked ideas.

somme and jackson.png
Cartoon cross-sections showing the relationship between deep-water sediment supply and fan construction, and onshore tectonic uplift. From Somme and Jackson (2013)

So in the end, for this tour, I decided to offer the following four talks, which I hope are generic enough to be of interest to the broad audience (i.e. different experience, different interests) typifying a modern Earth Science department.

  1. Hot Rocks Under Our Feet; Imaging Subsurface Igneous Geology Using 3D Seismic Reflection Data
  2. How do normal faults growth and why does it matter?
  3. 3D seismic reflection data; has the geological Hubble retained its focus?
  4. The Internal Structure and Composition of Salt Diapirs: What Do We Know, What Might We Want to Know, and Why Might it Be Important?

As you can see, these talks span a very broad range of topics, which I think is a very fair reflection of my overall research interests (i.e. if it’s interesting and I don’t understand it, I’ll study it). Most importantly, having given these talks before in one form or another, I know I really enjoy giving them; for me, this is key, otherwise I am too nervous and I therefore struggle to get excited about what I’m presenting. And if you, as the presenter, aren’t excited, then you can’t expect your audience to be excited. Yet much of the research/ideas in these talks is relatively new, thus I am not bored of them and, in fact, I can’t wait to share them! With all these talks I’m hoping to link in some ‘audience participation’ action, principally via the use of Mentimeter. This smartphone-compatible piece of software is simply awesome, allowing you to pose questions to the audience before, during and after your presentation. The audience can also use it to pose questions anonymously, which I find invaluable for getting participation from the somewhat ‘shyer’ members of the audience. Anyway, enough from me; my next sequence of posts will provide information on each talk and some of the underpinning research.

 

 

Author: Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I ❀️ πŸƒπŸΏ, 🚴🏿 and @basinsIC (⛏). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

1 thought on “The Plan”

Leave a Reply

