3, 2, 1…

Having: (i) been fortunate enough to be awarded the James B. Thompson, Jr, Distinguished Lecturer Award from the Geological Society of America; (ii) thought a little about what to talk about and why; and (iii) put together four talks covering 3D seismic reflection data, salt diapirs, normal fault kinematics, and seismic imaging of magmatic systems, I now find myself, sipping tea, at Terminal 3 in Heathrow Airport, ready to depart for the first leg of my tour!!!

Image result for heathrow terminal 3
Heathrow Terminal 3. Period.

It. Will. Be. Epic. With the 1st leg running from Saturday 28th of January until Saturday 11th of February. I’ll visit Ohio State, Rutgers, Oklahoma, Hawaii and Colorado School of Mines. In total, not including ‘ground’ transportation, on this first leg alone I will cover c. 17419 miles (28033 km), which is a little under 70% of the distance around the Earth! The map below shows the ‘as the crow flies’ route; the real route involves numerous short ground transfers. How I love small, beige, provincial U.S. airports and shuttle buses…

leg1map_edit
When GoogleEarth and Adobe Illustrator collide, magical things can happen…

The schedule is pretty tight (see below). During this first week, I’ll have a day or so between talks, with that time being largely filled by travel between venues. The second week is a little more ‘relaxed’, with me having wisely allowed myself three days for some ‘geological enrichment’ in Hawaii…I’m also planning on a spot of cycling and maybe even running with @zanejobe at CSM. I’ll post some more information about the specific universities, notable staff, etc, when I’m en route.

tour-part-1
Excel screengrab shakedown of The Tour 1st Leg…

I’m hoping to keep on top of the blogging and tweeting as I go; not only will my blog act a diary for my ageing mind, but it’s also a nice way to promote the places and people I meet, and a great way, I hope, of showing the valuable contribution professional societies like GSA can make to geoscience education. If you want to get involved, please use the comments box below, or simply reply to any tweets from @seis_matters. I’m super-keen to receive tips on sights to see, places to eat, people to meet, etc, so please get involved. Derek Sawyer (@dsawyer17) at Ohio State, the first stop on my trip, has already set an ridiculously high bar in terms of organisation and planning…more to come on that later…

talk-montage
The Menu.

Finally, for those of you interested in what I’ll be talking about, I have also uploaded my four talks to figshare: (i) The internal structure and composition of salt diapirs: What do we know, what might we want to know and why might it be important?; (ii) 3D Seismic Reflection Data: Has the Geological Hubble Retained Its Focus?; (iii) Hot Rocks Under Our Feet; Seismic Imaging of Igneous Geology in Sedimentary Basins; and (iv) How Do Normal Faults Grow?. Just a quick word about figshare; although I’m a rookie, it looks awesome, allowing you to create a repository for your research outputs, including presentation material and raw data. You even get DOIs for deposited items, which make your research outputs trackable. You can even get Altmetric credits, which, in some ways, allow you to assess the impact of your outputs. I strongly recommend you try it.

Anyway, thanks for listening so far and I’ll see you on the other side.

A word on the ‘featured’ image at the top of the post. It was created by Dr Lucia Perez Diaz, an uber-talented full-time Earth Scientist and part-time artist, who is currently based at Royal Holloway. Check out here company, NibType (@nib_type), for more awesome stuff like this!

Author: Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I ❀️ πŸƒπŸΏ, 🚴🏿 and @basinsIC (⛏). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

Leave a Reply

