The End…

Saturday. The last morning of the 1st leg of my GSA lecture tour, and man, I felt as rough as a roofer’s glove. The IPA, the whisky and the late night contrived to make me feel a little ‘fragile’; there was to be no running up South Table Mountain this morning. However, there was no rest for the wicked, as I’d made plans to meet GSA Executive Director, Vicki McConnell, for breakfast. We headed onto Washington Avenue, the main street through Golden, and settled into Windy Saddle, where strong coffee, water and a breakfast burrito helped settle my wayward stomach. Vicki was very engaging and easy to talk too, and we discussed lots and lots and lots of things, including the professional and social role of professional societies such as GSA, equality and diversity in the geosciences, and the future of the GSA Distinguished Lecturer program. We had a blast; it’s nice to meet people behind an email address.

Vicki headed back north to Boulder, the headquarters of GSA, and feeling a little more stable I went back to my B&B to pack. Before the shuttle arrived, I nipped to a local pharmacy to buy sleeping tablets; I struggle to sleep on planes, and with a 5 year old’s birthday party to attend straight after arriving back in London, I was keen to get at least some rest on the flight back. In my experience, sleeping tablets, washed down with red wine, make an excellent sedative.

So, here I am on the flight back to London. I have thoroughly enjoyed the 1st leg of my tour; I’d go as far as to say it is the best professional experience of my life. I have met old friends and made some new friends, I have learned a lot of new science, and I have been to some truly stunning places. I’ll be eternally grateful for all of this, and I again thank the GSA for making this happen.

For both you and I, the best news might well be that I can now take a break from blogging until the 2nd leg of my tour in mid-April. DING-DING, bring on Round 2…

fullsizeoutput_bf6

Author: Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I ❤️ 🏃🏿, 🚴🏿 and @basinsIC (⛏). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

Leave a Reply

