Just to recap for those at the back…

I’m on a National Express coach from Bristol to Heathrow Airport. I’ve not been on a National Express coach for >15 years. It’s actually fairly civilised. Maybe because its Easter Sunday and this coach is largely empty.

Anyway, given that you it’s been a few months since Leg 1, and since some folk might be coming to this new, I thought I’d provide a very brief recap of the lecture tour story so far. The embedded links will spin you out to earlier blog posts. Do give them a try.

The official title of the award underpinning the tour is the “Thompson Distinguished Lecturer Award”. The award is made by the Geological Society of America (GSA) and is named in recognition of James Burleigh Thompson, Jr, a metamorphic petrologists and geochemist of considerable stature. He even has a mineral named after him.

fullsizeoutput_bdb
How I feel.

Finding out about this award in early-2016 made me (and especially my Mum) very happy. So it should; these things don’t happen often, or at least not to me. The tour logistical planning in the latter half of 2016 was pretty intense, with GSA pretty much leaving me to my own devices in terms of contacting potential host institutions and arranging the overall itinerary. This was fun, but challenging, and after several months of transatlantic emailing I finally managed to put together a schedule that the travel agent deemed vaguely achievable. I then took on the task of preparing four talks to offer to these institutions; variety is, after all, the spice of life.

leg2
Leg 2. Spicy, yes?

Leg 1, which took place in early-February 2017, covered c. 18,000 miles and took in Ohio State University, Rutgers, University of Oklahoma, University of Hawaii, and Colorado School of Mines. I had too much fun and learnt a lot. The first stop on Leg 2 is El Paso, Texas down near the Mexico border. That’s long, long way away from just west of London. Blog soon y’all!

 

Author: Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I ❤️ 🏃🏿, 🚴🏿 and @basinsIC (⛏). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

Leave a Reply

