When vlogs go bad. Hawaiian style. v.2.0.

It’s been a very busy few days out here in the Hawaiian Islands. Island hopping to get some hot, sticky, viscous fluid action, giving a talk at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, and sampling the local food and drink whilst watching Lady Gaga. Seriously. Anyway, as threatened, see here a short(ish) (i.e. 15 minutes long) ‘vlog‘ of my trip out to see the basalt plateau and infamous lava tube sea entry point, just west of Kalapana.

Aside from the poor production, there are so many things wrong about this video. The sloppy, uncertain presentational style, the woeful terminology as pertains to igneous processes and products, even the music choice. The wind was so strong on the exposed basalt plateau west of Kalapana that much of the related audio is unintelligible. No bad thing, perhaps. And there’s shots of clouds, which I think are very beautiful in their own right and, in this video, when they part, afford an incredible view of the volcanic terrain below. Anyway, see what you think. Tomorrow I’m going to try and get back on the blogging horse and post a photo-record of what I got up to on Kilauea; my phones limited memory killed my plans of an all-day vlog…

Published by Christopher Aiden-Lee Jackson

I am Professor of Basin Analysis @imperialcollege. I ❤️ 🏃🏿, 🚴🏿 and @basinsIC (⛏). I obsess about the tectono-stratigraphic development of sedimentary basins. Why? Because I'm hopeless at everything else.

One thought on “When vlogs go bad. Hawaiian style. v.2.0.

Leave a comment